If Only I Knew – Part 1

Sunday Mornings at the Movies.

Welcome back to the Church of Corinth. Corinthians: the Sequel (aka 2 Corinthians: Volume 13 of Heavenly Citizens in Earthly Shoes) is now available as paperback and eBook. Don’t miss the exciting conclusion to the movie. It is heart wrenching as all get-out, let me tell you. Surprise endings are the icing on the cake, and this is some tasty cake!  Simply click here to order.

Oh, but a sequel is always more comprehensible if its parent movie is seen first, and then the prequel afterwards. So you would do well to read 1 Corinthians: Volume 12 first, and then read 2 Corinthians: Volume 13. But not to fret. You can still enjoy the sequel, should you choose to skip her mama. So what are you waiting for? Get yourself to our online bookstore and fetch your own copy! Simply click here to order.

That the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give to you a spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of Him.  I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened, so that you will know what is the hope of His calling, what are the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints [Ephesians 1:17-18].

The Apostle Paul had the heart of the Lord. This is evident from his every word in the Scriptures. He sacrificed his life to promote the welfare of others. He endured hostility and resentment for insisting Christians practice holy living. He knew this was for their own good, and that harm would befall them should they live contrary to the Word of God.

Paul didn’t take from the Christians to benefit himself. Rather, he gave of himself to his own hurt, so they would know Christ and grow in His grace. That is the definition of true love, God’s love. “For God so loved the world that He GAVE…” By definition love gives. It doesn’t take or even insist on having its equal share.

We today put the cart before the horse when it comes to love. The all-important “I-me-mine” trumps all else. “I have my rights. Give them to me!” “I did such and so for you. What have you done for me? You owe me!” In all suchlike thoughts the other person’s welfare really isn’t considered. The bottom line: it’s all about “I-me-mine”.

We’ve become quite adept at building a façade in front of the old “I-me-mine” penchant. The façade gives the impression of a church building, and it wears an attractive religious garb. Even though we live the “I-me-mine” routine, we spruce it up with assortments of “Praise the Lords!” and “I’m praying for you”, and suchlike jargon. Stir in a touch of affluent middle class morality as a substitute for Biblical morals, and no one can discern the difference. Looks like the real McCoy to me!

In all of this I expect the Lord’s blessings to shower down upon me. If they don’t, someone must be doing me wrong. I deserve the blessings. They’re my right! After all, I’m a good Christian. Just ask some of the folks in the church building. They’ll tell you. I’m popular!

We’ve incorporated the general elections into making our determinations for what is spiritual and what is not. Let’s vote on it! I’ve got lots of friends. They’ll vote for me. They’ll affirm that my spiritual maturity level is off the charts. Just ask ‘em.

Such is the bane of the contemporary USA religious climate, dear friends. We will continue this topic in the next study. In the meantime let’s betake ourselves to the prayer closet to receive the Lord’s input.

To further research this issue, I direct you to my book Joshua: Volume 6 of Heavenly Citizens in Earthly Shoes. To purchase my books please go to:
http://www.amazon.com/Randy-Green/e/B00507WC86

How about you let me hear from you!

